The Spirituality Of My Favorite Things

I’ve been spending the better part of the past week [in my head] trying to figure out what I’m going to write my Senior English Thesis about.  The only guideline is to “be sure that your topic concerns some form of religion, spirituality, ethical concern, or social justice problem.”

I’ve known for the better part of a year that I wanted to write about John Steinbeck’s East of Eden because it’s one of my very favorite books, if not my favorite altogether. And it’s got an incredibly complexly laced-with-spirituatlity-plot that I’ve always loved analyzing on my own.  Trying to pick apart the lines of what Steinbeck himself believed about the creator, the creation, Good and Evil and the combustible combinations of everything together.  I think it would be fascinating to pull apart each individual storyline, because if you’ve read it you’ll remember there are several, and identify the spiritual themes or understandings that exist within in sub-plot.

However, there is another piece of literature that’s both near and very dear to my heart with its own spiritual complexities.  Its own interpretation of The Gospel, Good and Evil and what the practical implications of it all are.

Yes, people.  I’m talking Harry Potter.

The more I think about the clear [to me, anyhow] Christian parallels of J.K Rowling’s epic tale of Good vs. Evil, the more I want to more explicitly explore the specific signs and examples of The Gospel that exist within the story.

My pretentious side wants to choose Steinbeck because it sounds more legitimate to say “I wrote my thesis on East of Eden versus Harry Potter“, right?  I mean, I can just hear my snarky writer-friend Vincent’s voice laughing “Oh, that’s rich”, after he tries to get his eyes un-stuck from the back of his head where he rolled them, when I tell him I want to write my thesis on Harry Potter.  Yet, on the other hand, though I’ve read East of Eden several times and love it dearly, I have a different sort of dedication to H.P. and have been re-reading those books for 14 years.

I don’t know.  I’m trying to find 5 articles on both before my first Research Seminar class on Monday and am no closer to a decision.

Stay tuned.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

