Ok so who doesn’t have a little family drama that puffs up, right?  to make a long, long story short (that I plan on telling in full length some day), my mom’s not in my life and hasn’t been for the past 2.5 years or so.

BUT

All that stuff aside, I tend to miss my mom most during the holidays because my mom made AWESOME foods.  Since I can’t eat any of them, I’m going to list them here and discuss.  Catharsis at its best?

  • Buttermilk Mashed Potatoes – homemade, from scratch, mashed potatoes with buttermilk mixed in.  You have not had mashed potatoes like these.  freaking. delicious.
  • Sweet Potato Casserole – My mom would make this kind of sweet potato puree, with some chunks of sweet potato left in, and then she’d top it with this brown sugar & butter crust on top and then bake the whole thing.  holy. crap.
  • Stuffing – pretty much everything my mom made was from scratch.  She’d make this stuffing that had all the regular thing stuffing had, but also had black olives.  Some other stuff was in it too, but I don’t remember.  I do remember it tasting awesome.
  • Homemade candies/truffles – My mom would get on these kicks and make a bunch of holiday candy.  OH MAN she made these white chocolate covered peanut butter balls that were literally like… the best thing I’d ever eaten.  And she’d make truffles.  some mocha, all delicious.
  • Homemade Tollhouse Chocolate Chip Cookies – Ok, so this doesn’t sound that impressive, I know.  BUT I’m a pretty good cook and I can NEVER seem to get the cookies right.  They always come out not tasting the same as my mom’s.  And they always seem to get hard after they cool.  My mom’s always stayed chewy and delicious.  I don’t know if it’s because we always cooked with gas stoves and ever since I’ve moved out and lived on my own I’ve always been cursed with electric stoves and ovens.  I have no idea.  All I’m saying is, I would KILL for a batch of these cookies right now.j
This is the list of mostly holiday themed foods.  My mom made awesome other foods too.  But that’s another post, I guess.

So, Attention Moms:

Please feel free to send me some holiday cookies.  Because I am a huge fan of mom-made chocolate chip cookies.

xoxo
tanya

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

