An Open Letter to Sun In Hair Lightener

[EDIT: This post gets a lot of traffic and I think it’s because people want to see how well it really works.  So I’ve added some “before” photos to accompany the after.  I’m also posting a follow-up that you can find HERE]

Dear Sun In,

Let me just say that you are truly a marvelous product.

Sometime in June, I think, a friend put some beautiful blonde highlights into my brown hair.

0618012333a  0618012329a0619011643

I loved them, but alas, they began to grow out.  Also, I found myself wanting more, more, more blonde!  I am not a girl with lots of spare cash to get my hair done every few weeks.  I am also not a girl that begs her poor friend to dye her hair every few weeks, for what can only qualify as charity.

Thus, I presented with a problem:  I wanted more blonde, on a serious budget and I didn’t know how to get it.

Enter: Sun In.

I somehow managed to escape the entirety of my adolescence without having ever actually tried this product out.  I really had no idea what to expect.  I googled your reviews, to try to gauge whether or not you’d would be worth a try.  Some of your reviews were good and spoke of your ease.  Some of your reviews, however, were pretty harsh.  It was a very polarized fact-finding mission, I must say.  I decided to take a chance on you, Sun In.  I decided to trust the smiling beach babe, on this pink & orange spray bottle.  She oozed confidence from her beautiful, beachy blonde hair and her turquoise halter top.

I brought you home, read the directions, and began my journey.  Though you boasted a scent of “Tropical Breeze”, I wasn’t totally in love with your smell.  “Oh well,” I thought, “Small price to pay.”  I did as the directions said and sprayed you on my damp hair and then attacked said hair with my blow-dryer.  I cannot tell a lie (actually, I can, I’m just choosing not to right here) I was expecting a more drastic difference after my first use.  BUT, I was happy to see that my hair did not turn orange, like some of those scathing reviews on the interwebz said it might.

What happened over the new few weeks was a static regiment of using you with each shower I took.  I also realize that, despite the description on your bottle thats says to use the blow-dryer to bring out highlights faster if I can’t wait for the sun, the sun certainly has a much more dramatic flair for blonding my hair.  I have had people ask if I dyed my hair after I spent a day by a pool, with you in my hair, even though they just saw me the day before.  That is quick working.

Sun In, this is only part 1 of why I love you so much.  Not only did you bring so much more blonde to the first set of highlights, thus giving me a flawless summer, beach hair, but you also have proven to be something of a Spartan warrior when it comes to combatting roots!  Sun In, you have somehow made worry about my roots inconsequential!  You have managed, despite your lack of a licensed cosmetologist within your bottle (as far as I know), to turn my roots a shade of blonde that blends perfectly with the lightest of the bleached highlights and the darkest of where my roots begin.

I WAS NOT EXPECTING THAT!

    

[DISCLAIMER:  my hair is only blow-dried, not straightened.  I know it looks bad.]

Sun In!  You have saved me so many dollars!  Actually, you have saved my hair from looking less-than-stellar, because, let’s be real here… I wasn’t going to spend the money either way.  For  a cost of >$5 per bottle, you have flawlessly maintained my sun-kissed, summer beach bum look, despite the shamefully small amount of time I actually spent at the beach this summer.

Sun In, I just wanted to thank you.  Thank you for shining as a beacon of hope in your near neon colored bottle and your real-life 90s barbie spokesmodel on your front.  You are truly an understated product and one that makes my life just a little bit nicer.

I hope we stay friends forever and ever.

xoxo

tanya

[UPDATE: See the newest Open Letter for follow-up photos]

Tagged , , , , ,

One thought on “An Open Letter to Sun In Hair Lightener

  1. That was supercute! I use sun in too. Once or twice a month. I also believe it or not; use it on my eyebrows. I am very careful of course.

    Another good thing about sun in is if for winter you want to gradually grow out the blonde with out the roots looking too bad. Just use sun in on your bangs for a while then let that grow out too. I gives a very natural and pretty ombre effect.

Leave a Reply

