Delicious Naked Spaghetti

I have a whole section of bookmarks just for recipes that I want to try out eventually.  Most of the time, however, I just end up thinking about how awesome they’d be and then forget about them.  Today, however, was a hybrid of those two things!

A few weeks ago I came across a recipe that someone shared, on their Facebook, and promptly bookmarked it.  I read through it that day but hadn’t really thought about it since then.  This morning/almost afternoon when I decided I was finally going to eat today, I remembered a box of garden spaghetti that I had sitting up in the cupboard.  Then I remembered I had a can of diced tomatoes.  THEN I thought about yesterday, how I sauteed garlic for a breakfast sandwich and then added fresh basil.  Obviously, all of these things sounded like they’d be awesome together and then they beautifully connected in my brain with the memory of that recipe.

I’m not the best recipe follower, or rather, I don’t enjoy recipe following.  So rather than consult the recipe, I winged it.  (what is the past tense of wing it?  winged it?  or wung it?  or wang it?  No, it can’t possibly be wang it…)  Anyway, here’s how to do it for yourself, if you’re not a fan of winging it.  (However, please be prepared for wishy-washy measurements that don’t correspond to traditional numbers but are easy enough to follow none-the-less):

INGREDIENTS:

1 can of diced tomatoes
5 cloves of peeled garlic  (CLOVES, not BULBS)
olive oil
fresh basil (to your liking)
spaghetti (or pasta of your choice)

STEPS:
1) chop your garlic into small cubes.  Not diced, but not chunky either.

2) sauté garlic in a TBSP or so of olive oil.  Garlic should be a little golden brown, be careful not to burn!  Once the garlic is mostly cooked, add about another TBSP of olive oil to create a garlic infused oil.

3) cook the pasta to your liking.  drain pasta.

4)  Add the oil & garlic to the pasta & toss

5) take about 6 or so leaves of basil, rip them up, add them in with the garlic and toss again

6) add diced tomates, toss with everything else.

7)  ENJOY.

Every ingredient is pretty much to your liking.  It’s easy, delicious and healthy.  Have fun!

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

